Home > Uncategorized > Visual Effects shot #25

Visual Effects shot #25

Hello faithful blog followers.  Is it just me or is Probe seeming to get longer and longer?  Oh… that’s what she said.

Lots of stuff going on right now.  Production is in double time right now as I stay awake late into the night working out visual effects shots.  I now can relate to filmmakers who say they absolutely loathed their film until the moment it was released to the fact that they spent so much time working on it.  Cheers.  Check out the fantastical work of shot #25, where I spent around thirteen hours perfecting.

Also, I just got back from visiting Kris, who is producing the music for Probe.  We spent a bit of work refining his original tracks, and we’ll continue working on it this evening.  I’m taking some heavy references from the “Moon” sountrack released last year.  David, our sfx designer, is also working nonstop on creating original sound effects for the film, and he’s doing a great job.

My original deadline for the film to be done is next friday.  Hopefully it will be done by then!  (fingers crossed)

Another Probe joke: I decided that the director’s cut of the film is going to be called “Probe: extended edition”.  Oh jeez.  Whose idea was it to name this film Probe?!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 29, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Joel,

    I’m sure you are already working with multi-pass techniques, be careful with your lighting, you have some things that are wrong with the current setup. The footage is strongly burned (maybe it’s the look you are looking for), careful with the skin tones, you can turn your hole scene green or blue, but you must keep the skin tones natural (Stu from the Orphanage made a great post on this),

    Your two actors are lit like they where exposed by a strong light with is totally absent from your scene, maybe add a flare or halo effect, and your ship seems to emit some blue light but that light has no glow or incidence on the actors (it should since it’s shining in the dark). If it’s night time you dark tones should have a more blueish tint, colors subtle desaturation.

    Anyway, just 2 cents to help you get your shot better ! Good luck with the film and keep going.

    A.

  2. April 29, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Agustin, thank you for your comments. I’ll check it out and see what I can do. Someone did mention that there would be a blue glow coming from the probe, but I said that there were two problems. One, we are seeing the rear of the actors, and unless we had a little light blending (which I can do) we wouldn’t see much blue. And, since that glow is rather small, it would be overpowered by the harsh lighting coming from above.

    You’re right about the skin tones. That’s something I’ve been trying to work out for a while. I’ll get back into that. I’ve moved on to other shots, but I can backtrack a bit and see if I can fix those a little. The strong burn is definitely what I was going for, though, at least on the inside of the dome.

    I’ll add another adjustment layer to get stuff a little more blue (it’s evening outside, so not quite night, but the Dome is completely enclosed), and certainly add a bit of desaturation. Thanks for your comments! Couldn’t do it without them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

